Zombie Reindeer and Other Sketches

I hate large gatherings of people. Especially, when there’s no place to escape. If it’s freezing cold outside or it’s raining, there’s no place to go. No place to catch your breath from the mass of unending noise. That’s why I bring my sketchbook to these events. It’s a way to retreat. I’ll hide away in a corner, start sketching away, and some of the madness around me starts to fade away. I’ve never really shared any of these sketches with anyone before; this seemed as good a time as any. This sketchbook was from 2006 and 2007:

Christmas Party 2006

Zombie Reindeer!

Passed-out Santa

These next few are from my grandfather’s wake. I’ll never understand the purpose of having a wake, it’s just torturous. When I die, I just want my loved ones to get drunk and share stories about how awesome I was (or wasn’t). No standing around a room for 4 hours while a bunch of people you barely know tell you how sorry they are for your loss.

My cousin Brian

My cousin Kurt

How I process death: draw the deceased as a superhero

And, this one wasn’t dated…

Random Zombie

Blog-A-Day Challenge: Day 20

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment